Teaching and Learning Years 7-9


The Year 7 - 9 curriculum is drawn from the Journey in Faith program (Religious Education) and the Australian Curriculum (all other subjects).


  • Religious Education
  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • History (one semester) Geography (one semester) 
  • Health and Physical Education

Targeted Placement:

Core subjects are studied in year levels with classes determined by Targeted Placement, which refers to the grouping of students in classes based on academic levels to better cater for their learning needs. This provides students with the opportunity to receive support and/or extension learning, depending on their progress.


Students in Years 7 - 9 undertake two electives per semester from a range of options, including:

  • Food and Hospitality 
  • Design and Technology: (Wood & Metal)
  • Art
  • Drama 
  • Design 
  • Music
  • Digital Technologies 
  • Business Innovation
  • Sport & Recreation 
  • Legal Studies  
  • Bahasa Indonesia
  • Mandarin

Curriculum Design:

In addition to subject specific content and skills, the Australian Curriculum is designed to develop general capabilities within learners: literacy, numeracy, information and communication technology capability, critical and creative thinking, personal and social capability, ethical understanding and intercultural understanding.

Standardised Testing:

St John’s participates in the national assessment plan literacy and numeracy (NAPLAN), as well as the ACER’s progressive assessment tests to collect data to inform teaching and learning.

Students in our middle school years have access to:

  • Library, Computer Labs, Auditorium, Basketball Courts and Chapel
  • Health Centre staffed by a registered nurse
  • Subject specialist facilities - music rooms, design and technology labs, woodwork and metalwork areas, drama room and art room
  • Darwin Region School Sports
  • Learning Nest